After many musical and human experiences in Europe and the United States with many musicians, saxophonist Vincent Thekal decided to create his new trio with bassist Alex Gilson and drummer Franck Agulhon, two long-time friends and very popular sidemen on the international scene, in order to be able to offer this new music.
« Origami » is the fruit of these experiences and influences, as well as a new page in the musical and personal life of the leader.

With four new compositions written specifically for this group and four pieces from the repertoire arranged for the band, « Origami » offers something different and new in the world of contemporary jazz.


Vincent Thekal: tenor sax, compositions, arrangements
Alex Gilson: double bass
Franck Agulhon: drums, arrangements


1. Origami
2. Saint Josse
3. After The Storm
4. Misterioso (T. Monk)
5. Today’s Opinion
6. Juju (W. Shorter)
7. For All We Know (J.F. Coots, S.M. Lewis)
8. Windows (C. Corea)


Recorded by Jonas Verrijdt at Wallstudio (Belgium) on November 27th and 28th, 2017
Mixed & Mastered by Katsuhiko Naito at Avatar Studios (New York)
Photos by Joseph Pitois


Buy the record here


Vincent Thekal: tenor and soprano saxophones, compositions
Daniele Cappucci: double bass
Armando Luongo: drums
Bo Van Der Werf: baritone saxophone on « Lausanne » and « Jungle Speed »
Matthieu Roffé: Fender Rhodes on « Notturno »


1. Climax
2. Lausanne (intro)
3. Lausanne
4. Song For Jeanne
5. Notturno
6. Jungle Speed
7. R5
8. Chicken For My Lady


All composed by Vincent Thekal.
Notturno composed by Daniele cappucci
Recorded by Jean pascal Boffo at Studio Amper, Clouange, (France)
Recorded by Julien Dispaux at Studio Besound, Brussels, (Belgium)
Mixed and mastered by Jean Pascal Boffo.
Cover design par Manon Brûlé
Produced by François Legrain (Ragtime production)


Buy the record here